Episode 2 Contents

In the Memory of Qurratulain Hyder (1926-2007)

This episode includes:

1) Song "Aaja Sanam Madhur Chandni Mein Hum" from "Chori Chori" (1956). Features Nargis and Raj Kapoor. Sung by Lata Mangeshkar and Manna Dey. Music by Shankar-Jaikishen.

2) Song "Shokhiyon Main Ghola Jaaye Phoolon Ka Shabab" from "Prem Pujari" (1970). Features Dev Anand and Waheeda Rehman. Sung by Kishore Kumar and Lata Mangeshkar. Lyrics by renowned poet Neeraj. Music by S. D. Burman.

3) Song "Panchi Nadiya Pawan Ke" from "Refugee" (2000). Features Abhishek Bachchan and Kareena Kapur. Lyrics by Javed Akhtar. Sung by Sonu Nigam and Alka Yagnik. Music by Anu Malik.

4) Song "Pal Pal Jhomoun" from "Zaher-e-Ishq" (1958). Features Mussarat Nazir and Habib. Sung by Zubaida Khanum. Music by Khurshid Anwar.

5) Interview with legendary South Asian novelist Qurratulain Hyder. This interview was conducted by Dr. Afroz Taj and John Caldwell at Ms. Hyder's home in India in 2006, one year prior to her death. Some notable books by Qurratulain Hyder include Aag Ka Darya (River of Fire), Pathjhar Ki Awaz (The Voice of Autumn), Raushni ki Raftar (The Speed of Light), Chaye Ke Bagh (Tea Plantations) and the family chronicle Kar e Jahan Daraz Hai (The Work of the World Goes On).

6) Song "Main Zindagi Ka Saath Nibhata Chala Gaya" from "Hum Dono" (1961). Features Dev Anand. Sung by Mohammad Rafi. Lyrics by the famous poet Sahir Ludhianvi.

7) Song "Mehndi Sajay Na Payar Bina" from "Soldier". Features Saima and Shaan. Sung by Naseebo Lal.

8) Song "Ae Meri Zohrajabeen" from "Phir Hera Pheri" (2006). Features Akshay Kumar, Sunil Shetty, Paresh Rawal. Music by Himesh Reshammiya. Lyrics by Sameer.

9) Song "Ae Meri Zohrajabeen" from "Waqt" (1965). Features Balraj Sahni. Sung by Manna Dey. Music by Ravi. Lyrics by Sahir Ludhianvi.

10) Song "Acha to Hum Chaltay Hain" from "Aan Milo Sajna" (1970). Sung by Lata Mangeshkar. Music by Laxmikant Pyarelal.